2022 Virtual Trainings for Direct Care Professionals (Classroom Teachers, Assistants, Aides, Family/Group Family Providers)

Introduction to the Core Body of Knowledge

The workshop provides teachers with a basic understanding of the Core Body of Knowledge and how it is used as a guide to reflecting on personal strengths and areas of opportunity for improvement both in personal knowledge and in the application of knowledge in the Early Childhood Classroom Setting.  The self-assessment process assists staff in playing an active role in determining professional development and coaching goals that will improve their practice.

  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Tuesday, January 25 & February 1, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 2: Saturday, May 14, 2022, 8:30am-11:30am
  • Option 3: Wednesday, September 21 & 28, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 4: Saturday, October 22, 2022, 8:30am-11:30am



Interest-Driven Learning Framework

This three-session series provides early childhood professionals with the foundational knowledge necessary to create curriculum that embodies the Core Beliefs of the New York State Core Body of Knowledge and the New York State Early Learning Guidelines. These include the beliefs that children construct their own knowledge based on their curiosity and driven by their interests, that children learn through play, and that children learn best when the adults in their lives work in partnership with each other. These beliefs are common to the research foundation of emergent curriculum, Creative Curriculum and High Scope, and this professional development series is appropriate for teachers and leaders who use these approaches. Sessions must be taken in chronological order.

  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Mondays, April 11 & 18, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 2: Mondays, September 12 & 19, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 3: Saturday, October 1, 2022, 9:00am-4:00pm
  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Wednesdays, January 19 & 26, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 2: Saturday, April 2, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 3: Mondays, September 19 & 26, 2022, 3:00-6:00pm
  • Option 4: Saturday, October 1, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Saturday, February 12, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 2: Saturday, April 23, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 3: Saturday, July 9, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 4: Saturday, October 8, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm

  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Mondays, May 2 & 9, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 2: Mondays, October 3 & 17, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 3: Saturday, November 5, 2022, 9:00am-4:00pm
  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Wednesdays, February 16 & 23, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 2: Saturday, May 7, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 3: Mondays, October 17 & 24, 2022, 3:00-6:00pm
  • Option 4: Saturday, November 5, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Saturday, March 12, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 2: Saturday, May 21, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 3: Saturday, August 6, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 4: Saturday, November 12, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm

  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Mondays, May 16 & 23, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 2: Mondays, November & & 14, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 3: Saturday December 3, 2022, 9:00am-4:00pm
  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Wednesdays, March 16 & 23, 2022, 6:00-9:00pm
  • Option 2: Saturday, June 4, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 3: Mondays, November 14 & 21, 2022, 3:00-6:00pm
  • Option 4: Saturday, December 3, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Saturday, April 30, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 2: Saturday, June 25, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 3: Saturday, September 10, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm
  • Option 4: Saturday, December 10, 2022, 8:30am-3:30pm

Participants of the Interest Driven Learning Series are welcome to sign up for additional coaching to implement the framework in their program.



Newly Revised Early Learning Guidelines

We will host a series of training on the newly revised Early Learning Guidelines throughout the calendar year.  There are three sessions to choose from, you can attend just one or all three.  Each session is 90-minutes in length and directed to educators working directly with children (Teachers, Assistants, Aides, Family Child Care and Group Family Child Care Providers)

  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Tuesday, January 18, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 2: Thursday, February 17, 2022. 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 3: Tuesday, March 22, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 4: Tuesday, April 12, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 5: Thursday, May 12, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 6: Tuesday, September 20, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 7: Thursday, September 29, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 8: Tuesday, October 11, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 9: Thursday, November 10, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 10: Tuesday, December 6, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Thursday, February 17, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 2: Tuesday, March 15, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 3: Tuesday, April 26, 2022, 5:00-6:00pm
  • Option 4: Thursday, May 26, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 5: Tuesday, October 25, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 6: Tuesday, November 29, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Tuesday, February 8, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 2: Thursday, March 10, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 3: Tuesday, April 19, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 4: Thursday, May 19, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm
  • Option 5: Thursday, October 6, 2022, 5:00-6:30pm
  • Option 6: Tuesday, November 15, 2022, 6:30-8:00pm



Communities of Practice

A community of practice is a group of people who “share a concern or a passion for something they do and learn how to do it better as they interact regularly”. Participate in a monthly Community of Practice with collogues in one or more of the following content areas:

This Community of Practice provides opportunities for individuals to spend time with colleagues to discuss how the NYS Core Body of Knowledge can be used as a self-reflective and planning tool for personal and professional goal setting and growth. This is an opportunity to share both challenges and successes. and to share practices and resources across the group.

  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Wednesdays, 3/2, 4/6, 5/4, 6/1, 7/13, 8/10, 9/14, 10/12, 11/2, 12/7, 5:00pm-6:30pm
  • Option 2: Wednesdays, 3/2, 4/6, 5/4, 6/1, 7/13, 8/10, 9/14, 10/12, 11/2, 12/7, 7:00pm-8:30pm

This Community of Practice provides opportunities for individuals to spend time with colleagues to discuss the implementation of various elements of Anti-Bias Education that support children’s sense of self, pride in their uniqueness, and joy in sharing their family’s culture. Building their sense of social justice and supporting their social-emotional development. This is an opportunity to share both challenges and successes, and to share practices and resources across the group.

  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Wednesdays, 3/16, 4/20, 5/18, 6/15, 7/27, 8/24, 9/28, 10/26, 11/16, 12/21, 5:00pm-6:30pm
  • Option 2: Wednesdays, 3/16, 4/20, 5/18, 6/15, 7/27, 8/24, 9/28, 10/26, 11/16, 12/21, 7:00pm-8:30pm

This Community of Practice provides opportunities for individuals to spend time with colleagues to discuss implementation of various pyramid practices that support children’s social-emotional development.  This is an opportunity to share both challenges and successes. and to share practices and resources across the group.  

  • Dates (Choose 1)
  • Option 1: Wednesdays, 3/9, 4/13, 5/11, 6/8, 7/20, 8/17, 9/21, 10/19, 11/9, 12/14, 5:00pm-6:30pm
  • Option 2: Wednesdays, 3/9, 4/13, 5/11, 6/8, 7/20, 8/17, 9/21, 10/19, 11/9, 12/14, 7:00pm-8:30pm
Back to Top